Welcoming the Change

I’m sensing a trend…and not a good one. I seem to post once a year. Yikes. My new years resolution (I guess a bit early) is to maintain this blog on an ongoing basis…which right now is setting the bar pretty low seeing as how it’s been 13 months. But with some new goals on the horizon, I’m going to try my best.

A few quick updates on our family: We’ve moved to Sandpoint, ID for my husband’s job at a local church; I quit my job as program manager and am now a 95% stay-at-home mom (that 5% is spent doing some grant writing for my past employer); we bought a home and are planning to move in January; and….we are expecting #2 in May. This news hasn’t hit the world wide web yet so I’ll really know who reads these posts if I start to get texts and comments (again, my bar is set low!).

So what’s on tap for today’s post? I’m going to be somewhat expanding the focus of this website to include parenting info and real-life craziness of being a mom. Seeing as how this job makes up 95% of my time, energy, thoughts, sweat, blood, and whatever bodily fluids happen to make themselves known for the day, I very much want to include this part of my life with y’all (no, I’m not from the south…never even been…sadly). I’ve encountered so many moms who either feel like they’re failing, they have lost themselves, they are alone, they don’t know what they are doing, they feel inadequate and are simply exhausted (wait…that could easily be my mirror talking!!!) and I want to offer some sort of encouragement to those moms who are seriously doing the HARDEST, MOST IMPORTANT JOB IN THE WORLD! So…if you decide to leave this site because of the newfound mommy rants, I don’t blame you. But I do promise to continue to include posts on health, nutrition, fitness and all things balance-related.

Ok, so what’s the challenge for today? So for today, being 10 days from Christmas, my challenge for you revolves around a spirit of giving. Instead of being all-consumed my our materialistic Holiday channel Christmas, I challenge you to think outside the box in how you can serve others this holiday season. After all, we are celebrating the birth of the one who gave the ultimate sacrifice for us!

  • Do a random act of kindness to a complete stranger (i.e. pay for their coffee drink, leave a note on a car windshield, ding-dong-ditch some cookies at an unknown neighbor’s home, give someone a high-five as you’re walking down the sidewalk, shovel someone’s driveway).

There you go! Try it, see what happens. Not only will the person receiving the act of kindness be blessed, but you also will be blessed so much more!!

Merry Christmas!

-K

 

sandpoint overview.jpg

Overlooking our new hometown of Sandpoint, ID

 

 

One thought on “Welcoming the Change

  1. Yes yes yes! Please write on here more! I love getting to read my friends’ blogs – especially yours! I love your writers voice 🙂 Hope all is going well with baby#2 on the way!!! (Another little GIRL..yay!!!)

What do you think?

